20 candidates made the 1st 2020 Democratic debate

The Democratic National Committee has announced the 20 candidates who met the polling or fundraising measures required to qualify for the party’s first presidential debate later this month.

Featured on June 26 in Miami will be Warren, Booker, O’Rourke, Inslee, Minnesota Sen. Amy Klobuchar, former Housing and Urban Development Secretary Julian Castro, New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio, former Rep. John Delaney of Maryland, Rep. Tulsi Gabbard of Hawaii and Rep. Tim Ryan of Ohio.

The next night’s lineup has Biden, Sanders, Harris, Buttigieg, Hickenlooper, New York Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand, Colorado Sen. Michael Bennet, author Marianne Williamson, entrepreneur Andrew Yang and Rep. Eric Swalwell of California.

Here’s who’s in and who’s out:


Michael Bennet, senator from Colorado

Joe Biden, former vice president

Cory Booker, senator from New Jersey

Pete Buttigieg, mayor of South Bend, Indiana

Julian Castro, former Housing and Urban Development secretary

Bill de Blasio, mayor of New York City

John Delaney, former congressman from Maryland

Tulsi Gabbard, congresswoman from Hawaii

Kirsten Gillibrand, senator from New York

Kamala Harris, senator from California

John Hickenlooper, former Colorado governor

Jay Inslee, Washington governor

Amy Klobuchar, senator from Minnesota

Beto O’Rourke, former congressman from Texas

Tim Ryan, congressman from Ohio

Bernie Sanders, senator from Vermont

Eric Swalwell, congressman from California

Elizabeth Warren, senator from Massachusetts

Marianne Williamson, author and spiritual guru

Andrew Yang, entrepreneur



Steve Bullock, governor of Montana

Mike Gravel, former senator from Alaska

Wayne Messam, mayor of Miramar, Florida

Seth Moulton, congressman from Massachusetts


Categories: Politics