2020 Citizen’s Redistricting Commission application period

SAN DIEGO (KUSI) – The California State Auditor’s Office was in San Diego this Tuesday, June 11th as part of a five-city, statewide tour to launch the open application period for the 2020 Citizen’s Redistricting Commission.

According to the State Auditor’s Office every ten years, after the federal government publishes updated census information, California must redraw the boundaries of its Congressional, State Senate, State Assembly, and State Board of Equalization districts.

In 2008, California voters passed the Voters FIRST Act authorizing the creation of an independent Commission comprised of 14 members.

The 2020 Commission will include five Democrats, five Republicans, and four who are either registered without, or “independent” of, any political party (decline-to-state or no party preference) or with another party. The Commission is responsible for drawing the lines of each district.

The open application period for the public to be a new Commission member begins Monday, June 10, 2019, and will run through August 9, 2019.

Categories: California News, Good Morning San Diego, Local San Diego News, Politics