2020 Willie Jones Jr. Memorial City Conference Wrestling Tournament

Mira Mesa wrestling team gets to raise the City Conference Championship trophy for the 9th straight year in a row at The 2020 Willie Jones Jr. Memorial City Conference Wrestling Tournament at La Jolla High School.

Marauders Head Coach, Craig Van Dyke’s team of wrestlers won 7 of the 14 weight classes, winning with a score of 298. Patrick Henry came in 2nd with a score of 195, University City in 3rd at 137, Scripps Ranch in 4th with a score of 98.5, and San Diego rounds out the Top 5 with a score of 87.5 Here are the final results for each weight class.

In the 108 lbs division, Mira Mesa’s Luca Pasto won over opponent Austin Tran from Point Loma to get the scoring going for the Marauders.

At 115 lbs, Mira Mesa’s Calel Velasco won by fall over Mitchell Hallmark of Scripps Ranch.

Zachary Antonio of Mira Mesa takes home the crown in the 122 lbs division winning against Dustin Carr from University City.

In the 128 lbs division, Marauder’s Andy Nguyen gets the pin over opponent Ryan Bethel from Scripps ranch to take first.

At 134, Patrick Henry’s Evan Adler takes first over opponent Mathew David Bui from Mira Mesa.

San Diego High School’s Alexander Schwaebe took home the 140 lbs trophy, winning over Gavin Kaminski from Mira Mesa.

In the 147 lbs division, Ryan Knox from Mira Mesa comes out on top against Edwin Ramirez from Patrick Henry.

Erik Hofer rings in points for Clairemont by winning first in the 154 lbs division over Devhante Hayes of Mira Mesa.

Jonathan Villar Cantar from Mira Mesa gets the second pin of the championship. Taking fitst in the 162 lbs division over Jayden Davis from Patrick Henry.

At 172, it was Patrick Henry’s David Hetter winning over University City’s Kevin Chen.

In the 184 lbs division, Kellen Foster from Patrick Henry won over Dylan Lagandaon from Mira Mesa.

Mira Mesa Marauder Kurtis Modlin takes home the 197 lbs trophy, after he gets the pin over Joshua Jasso from La Jolla.

Patrick Henry’s Jeffrey Dotson wins over Aiden Haimovitch from Mira Mesa.

In the heavy weight division, Lincoln’s very own Nicholas Tinajero takes home the crown in the 287 lbs class, winning over Christopher Carmichael from University City.
Categories: All Sports Report, Sports