AP names its Breakthrough Entertainers of 2018

The Associated Press has named its second annual Breakthrough Entertainers list that includes eight actors and musicians who have had standout years.

This year’s honorees are: Awkwafina, Kane Brown, Elsie Fisher, Hannah Gadsby, Henry Golding, Ella Mai, Natasha Rothwell and John David Washington.

Each has had a standout role or album in 2018 that have catapulted them to stardom. In the case of several honorees, including Mai and Fisher, they are already getting awards season recognition.

It’s hard to imagine what entertainment might have looked like without them in 2018. Thankfully, audiences and listeners don’t have to — all the artists are already working on new projects.

Categories: National & International News