List of San Diego County school districts closing to prevent spread of COVID-19

SAN DIEGO (KUSI) – Out of an abundance of caution, and in consultation with local public health, many San Diego County school districts will close March 16 in order to curb the potential transmission of the coronavirus (COVID-19).

The following are confirmed closures from The San Diego County Office of Education.

  • Alpine Union School District (through April 13)
  • Bonsall Unified School District (through April 3)
  • Borrego Springs Unified School District (through March 27)
  • Cajon Valley Union School District (through April 20)
  • Cardiff School District (through March 27)
  • Carlsbad Unified School District
  • Chula Vista Elementary School District (through April 3)
  • Coronado Unified School District (through April 3)
  • Dehesa School District (through April 17)
  • Del Mar Union School District
  • Encinitas Union School District (through April 10)
  • Escondido Union Elementary School District (through April 13)
  • Escondido Union High School District (through April 13)
  • Fallbrook Union Elementary School District (through April 10)
  • Fallbrook Union High School District (through April 10)
  • Grossmont Union High School District (through April 10)
  • Jamul-Dulzura Union School District (through April 20)
  • Julian Union Elementary School District (through April 3)
  • Julian Union High School District (through April 3)
  • Juvenile Court and Community Schools (through April 3)
  • La Mesa-Spring Valley School District (through April 10)
  • Lakeside Union School District (through April 17)
  • Lemon Grove School District (through April 17)
  • Mountain Empire Unified School District (through April 13)
  • National School District (through April 3)
  • Oceanside Unified School District (through April 10)
  • Poway Unified School District (through April 3)
  • San Diego Unified School District (through April 6)
  • San Dieguito Union High School District (through March 27)
  • San Marcos Unified School District
  • San Pasqual Union School District (through April 13)
  • San Ysidro School District (through April 6 (staff)/April 7 (students)
  • Santee School District (through April 10)
  • Solana Beach School District
  • South Bay Union School District (through April 3)
  • Spencer Valley School District (through April 6)
  • Sweetwater Union High School District (through April 3)
  • Vallecitos School District (through April 14)
  • Valley Center-Pauma Unified School District
  • Warner Unified School District (through March 27)

Confirmed charter school closures:

  • Albert Einstein Academies (through April 13)
  • Americas Finest Charter School
  • Escondido Charter High School (through April 13)
  • Gompers Preparatory Academy (through April 6)
  • Greater San Diego Academy (through April 20)
  • Guajome Schools (through April 3)
  • Hawking STEAM Charter Schools
  • Heritage K-8 Charter School (through April 13)
  • Kidinnu Academy (through April 17)
  • KIPP Adelante Preparatory Academy (through April 3)
  • MAAC Community Charter School (through April 3)
  • National University Academy – Dual Language Institute
  • North County Trade Tech High School (through April 6)
  • San Diego Global Visions Academy (through April 6)
  • The Preuss School UC San Diego (through April 6)
  • Urban Discovery Schools (through April 6)

We will continue to update this list and add anticipated reopen dates as the situation unfolds. Please note that some of these closure dates include the district’s scheduled Spring Break.

San Diego Unified will have a drive-thru/walk-up distribution of packaged prepared food. Children will need to be present to receive meals, and each child 18 years and younger can take on lunch and one breakfast for the following day.

There will be no congregate feeding. All food will be consumed off site, and the proposed meal distribution times for all locations are 11:00 AM to 1:00 PM.

The serving sites were strategically selected based on geographic location targeting high need areas – per the USDA, all serving areas need to have at least 50-percent free/reduced price percentages.

All school provided meals will still be available at eight serving locations throughout the county.

Clark Middle School – 4388 Thorn St. (92105)

Sherman Elementary – 301 22nd St. (92102)

Zamorano Fine Arts Academy – 2655 Casey St. (92139)

Kearny High School – 1954 Komet Way (92111)

O’Farrell Charter – 6130 Skyline Dr. (92114 – 5620)

Walker Elementary – 9245 Hillery Dr. (92126)

Farb Middle – 4880 La Cuenta Dr.

For more information click here.

Categories: Coronavirus, Local San Diego News