LT elected to College Football Hall of Fame

SAN DIEGO (CNS) – Longtime Chargers running back LaDainian Tomlinson was one of 14 athletes named Thursday to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Tomlinson ran for 5,263 yards in four seasons at TCU and scored 54 touchdowns. His 406-yard output in 1999 stands as a single-game NCAA rushing record, and his 2,158 yards the next year remains fifth all-time.

He ran for 12,490 yards in nine seasons as a Charger, scoring 138 touchdowns and adding another element to his game by catching 530 passes, scoring another 15 times. He finished his professional career by playing two seasons with the New York Jets.

Among the others named to the Hall of Fame were offensive lineman Tony Boselli, who played at USC from 1991-94, former UCLA quarterback John Sciarra, who played from 1972 to 1975, and Darrin Nelson, who was a running back at Stanford from 1977-81.

“Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments at the new Hall of Fame in Atlanta as an inspiration to future generations,” said Archie Manning, chairman of the National Football Foundation, which announced the selections. The father of Peyton and Eli Manning is also a Hall of Fame member.

The 2014 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be inducted at the foundation’s 57th annual awards dinner Dec. 9 in New York. They will also be honored at the National Hall of Fame Salute at the Sugar Bowl in New Orleans on New Year’s Day.

Categories: KUSI