Paid sick leave goes into effect Wednesday, July 1
SAN DIEGO (KUSI) – More than six million workers are expected to benefit from a new law that requires California employers to provide them with at least three paid sick days each year.
The paid sick leave law passed last year and will have a significant impact on the day-to-day lives of many employees and their families, including those who work temporary and part-time jobs.
Starting tomorrow, California will be the first state where nearly every single private-sector worker will be guaranteed a right to earn three paid sick days.
At a press conference Tuesday morning in front of a McDonald’s in City Heights, the bill’s author, Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez, said the new law will be good for workers, their families and businesses.
“When you talk to other workers, single moms, working moms, who work up to 30,40,50 hours a week, and have to decide- are they going pay the rent that month, are they going to keep their job, or are they going to take their baby to the doctor…. That’s unfair… And it’s wrong,” she said.
“Until today, I’ve had to go to work sick myself or leave my sick daughter with a caretaker because I can’t afford to lose the little income I bring home. And in the 11 years I’ve worked at burger king I’ve seen sick coworkers handle food that goes out to the public.” said Maribel Sosa, a fast-food worker.
Opponents argue this law will be a burden for employers in California, a state where lawmakers should be finding ways to stimulate job growth, not impose costly mandates.
This law will effect every private-sector worker in the state who works 30 or more days in a year. They will earn a minimum of one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours they work, up to three days.