San Diego Padres Hall of Fame

Petco Park received a memorable and sentimental upgrade Friday, with the new Padres Hall of Fame presented by Sony. The Hall of Fame, located at the Gaslamp entrance, is the centerpiece of what is now known as "Hall of Fame Plaza."

Included in this commemorative building includes shrines of all Padre Hall of Famers, Randy Jones, Dave Winfield, Tony Gwynn and Trevor Hoffman. Two of these four were present for the opening of the museum, while Alicia Gwynn was present to represent Mr. San Diego. Each had great things to say about the new addition to the ballpark.

"I got inducted in 1999, and to start recognizing all of us in the organization and creating the history, there’s not much history, but it’s ours, it’s Padres history," says Jones about the hall. The building includes video boards, award plaques, and player statistics throughout the years.

 "Just going through that museum was so awesome, but at the end it was very emotional," says spouse of the late Tony Gwynn. She as well as members of her family were present on behalf of Tony and to check out all of the memorabilia inside. 

"Any professional ball club should be proud of it’s history," says Cooperstown Hall of Famer Dave Winfield, "so it’s a great thing that the Padres are honoring people that meant so much to the organization."

The Hall of Fame is open to the public, and including plaques outside that represent all of the players inducted into the MLB Hall of Fame in Cooperstown that at one time wore a San Diego Padres uniform. 

Ted Williams is being inducted during Friday evening’s pre-game ceremony, while Ken Caminiti will be inducted in August later this year.

Mobile App Users: Click to watch here

Categories: San Diego Pro Sports