Thurgood Marshall Elementary School teacher recognized for outstanding work

SAN DIEGO (KUSI) – A nationwide campaign is recognizing the top teachers in the country. President of National University, Dr. Michael R. Cunningham, Thurgood Marshall Elementary School Principal Dr. Monica Loyce, and transitional kindergarten teacher Angela Karem explained on Good Morning San Diego.

The Sanford Teacher Award is offered in honor of philanthropist T. Denny Sanford, the visionary behind the Sanford Programs that are based out of the private, nonprofit National University System (NUS) and designed to help teachers create inspiring and collaborative classrooms: PreK-6 Sanford Harmony, and PreK-12 Sanford Inspire.

The award is based the following characteristics of inspiring teaching: Enthusiasm for teaching; empathy and warmth towards all students; fosters positive relationships with all students; creates a positive learning environment; and recognizes student strengths.

Categories: Good Morning San Diego, Local San Diego News