Assemblymember Todd Gloria Named Majority Whip of California State Assembly

Newly appointed California State Assembly Majority Whip Todd Gloria joined Good Morning San Diego to discuss his new appointment as well as several major topics in the California political landscape.

Heading into his second year of service in the State Legislature, California State Assemblymember Todd Gloria (D-San Diego) was appointed today by Speaker Anthony Rendon (D-Paramount) as the Majority Whip of the California State Assembly.

“This is a tremendous honor and I am humbled by the faith Speaker Rendon has placed in me to serve as the Assembly’s Majority Whip,” said Assemblymember Todd Gloria. “Last year, we achieved the most productive and progressive legislative session in recent memory. Now, it’s time for us to build on that progress and I look forward to being part of the team to make that happen.”

Assemblymember Gloria’s appointment as Majority Whip comes after a year of service as Assistant Majority Whip. As the Majority Whip, Gloria will lead a team of Assemblymembers to push for priority legislation and issues of the Democratic Caucus.

In addition to this new leadership role, Assemblymember Gloria will also serve as a member of the Assembly’s Housing and Community Development Committee.

“Working on housing issues is a personal passion of mine and largely why I became involved in public service,” said Assemblymember Todd Gloria. “California’s housing crisis remains one of our state’s most pressing issues and I look forward to working with my colleagues to ensure every Californian can have a roof over their head at a price they can afford.”

The Assembly Committee on Housing and Community Development has primary jurisdiction over housing finance, homeless programs, land-use planning, redevelopment, farm worker housing, mobile homes/manufactured housing, building standards, eminent domain, housing discrimination, and natural disaster assistance and preparedness.

The appointments were formalized in letters from Speaker Rendon released today and are effective immediately. See leadership changes here. See committee changes here.

Categories: Politics